Cairo / egypt / Good Times / Shutupdates

Shutupdate #2

How goes it kiddos?

Bringing you another lightning-fast (comparatively) update about life in Cairo today. With a few pictures, because I really just can’t help it.

JUST LOOK AT THIS LITTLE GUY.

JUST LOOK AT THIS LITTLE GUY.

  1. Been attempting to be more social and explorative towards Egypt this semester so far. Resulted in a weekend spent having work parties with coworkers, a trip to Al-Azhar park (more on that later) and making banana bread with strawberries and chocolate chips mixed in yesterday for a weekly group viewing of RuPaul’s Drag Race. (I might have eaten the majority of it, in a group of 5.) Also falling in love with the cat of my coworker…who may or may not be named RuPaul.

    Went to the same place on Mubtadayan as before, but this time I got the kofta. Next time, I will also get the kofta. Eternally, I shall ALWAYS GET THE KOFTA.

    Went to the same place on Mubtadayan as before, but this time I got the kofta. Next time, I will also get the kofta. Eternally, I shall ALWAYS GET THE KOFTA.

  2. The water in my bathroom was leaking into our neighbors’ apartments, apparently, so for the past 5 days my bathroom floor has been ripped up, pipes replaced, and appliances scattered across my flat. Please finish soon so I can do laundry?

    Just a toilet in my living room. Totally normal.

    Just a toilet in my living room. Totally normal.

  3. SCHOOL IS BACK IN SESSION. As of Monday. I have 3 classes that are either entirely or almost entirely made up of my previous students, which I’m pretty delighted about, and one class of all new faces who seem to be pretty sharp–I’m looking forward to working with them.
  4. On that note, I requested to join one of the Arabic classes we give to those refugees from countries that DON’T actually speak it. Had my first class and was thrilled to note that, while the teacher was speaking quite speedily, I understood mostly everything (not the case in my daily interactions with Egyptians.) However…it seems the class is for literacy. Most people in there can to some degree speak Arabic, but they’re learning how to WRITE and some basic grammar. Which is stuff I learned, oh, about 5-6 years ago? So I’m not sure if it’s worth my time to stay in the class, but the listening practice sure was nice.
  5. The same coworker who shared lunch with me that fateful Thanksgiving day brought me a jar of homemade Sudanese peanut butter the other day. It’s more in the way of natural peanut butters, but has just a hint of sweetness and is SO creamy. Literally the best peanut butter I’ve ever had, and literally almost gone. YUM.
  6. Still crossfitting away like a fool, and participating in the “365 days of handstands” challenge that my gym back home is doing. Meaning every day (for a year…in theory) I take a photo in a handstand (or headstand!) of some sort. Meaning I’ve crashed into my/gym floors once or twice. Meaning my roommates probably think I’ve lost it.

    This...got some weird looks.

    This…got some weird looks.

Annnd that’s all I’ve got for today. I think I’m getting the hang of this “concise” thing. Maybe.

-B

2 thoughts on “Shutupdate #2

Share your thoughts!

