Rants

Paris

 

I don’t have anything particularly insightful to say right now. I think it is well established that I found many flaws in Paris during my stay there, and that it is not the city of my dreams. That being said, it was still a home to me for the better part of a year, and there are many things about it I miss. I was given the opportunity to grow, learn, and meet people I never would have otherwise in that city, and I am forever grateful for my time there. I am even more thankful that those I know there are safe today.

Even before the events at Charlie Hebdo, prejudice was a slow toxin spreading through French society, with a number of reasons I won’t go into here. After the events of last evening, I fear that poison is going to change the nature of the city forever, and that saddens me a good deal. My thoughts are with you, Paris, and so are my hopes that you will overcome this tragedy and not let fear overcome you.


cropped-img_4261edit.jpg
IMG_5511EDIT

An elderly couple walks up the stairs to the rotunda hand in hand.

View from the Eiffel Tower.

The Seine & back of Notre Dame.

...People aren't supposed to be able to do that, bro.

A few winter roses in Les Jardins des Plantes.

Looking up a sunny, boat-lined canal towards Bastille. One of my new favorite places in Paris, of course discovered right at the end.

Bit of an atmospheric shot of the wine selection in our restaurant.

One last, warm-hued glance down my street.

Share your thoughts!

