Beginnings / Cairo / egypt / Travel / Uncategorized

Living in Garden City–an apartment tour.

I have a standard rule when I move into a new place–be it in a different country or just a new apartment when I was in school–and that rule is to always, always, ALWAYS unpack and try to accomplish as many necessary decoration or household activities as possible in the first day, or maybe two.

I HAVE A ROOM GUYS. It's actually pretty large, too much so to capture in one photo. Also all of these pictures were taken with soft lighting at night so...blurry.

I HAVE A ROOM GUYS. It’s actually pretty large, too much so to capture in one photo. Also all of these pictures were taken with soft lighting at night so…blurry.

After that, I inevitably lose steam and motivation, and things seem less important…shelves go un-assembled, pictures un-hung, certain knick-knacks end up in suitcases under my bed rather than a proper home of their own. While I’m not really going to be pulling out the stops with home décor around here, I’m definitely drifting a little as far as settling in. I have such a spacious room it’s hard to REALLY care that those two suitcases, still partially full, are lying on the floor. Whaaatever.

View out of my door through common space #1/you can kind of see the entry area.

View out of my door through common space #1/you can kind of see the entry area.

Anywho, as promised, here are a few photos of my new digs (minus bathrooms/hallways/roommates’ rooms). By American standards? It’s a little old, mildly dingy in a few spots–think about it like a tiny house belonging to an old lady or man who just hasn’t gotten around to renovating in 30-40 years or something. It also happens to be full of some older furniture and knick-knacks, which I kind of find very cool–I get little snapshots of the past whenever I poke around. All that being said, I live in an area called Garden City that is known for actually being fairly nice and wealthier–I live right on the border of a cheaper, more traditional district called Mounira, so I’m sure other apartments further in to Garden City are a bit more up to date and swanky than mine.

Dining room leading into the second/larger common area, full of cushy couches and the only spaces where wifi works right now. Gah.

Dining room leading into the second/larger common area, full of cushy couches and the only spaces where wifi works right now. Gah.

My main delight is that I have air conditioning now. Life is just…so much better when you don’t spend all day perspiring and trying not to move. We don’t leave it on all the time, of course–that would be wildly expensive–but it sure does make a difference. Seriously, people. COUNT YOUR BUILT-IN HEATING AND COOLING BLESSINGS. Plus, now I can cook, and thus have REAL FOOD wooo! (Admittedly I still have yet to buy a lot of real food and am still living mostly off of pita bread and…whatever I shove into it. Meh. I’ll get there.)

Kitchen shot #1-that door leads to a tiny balcony where we can hang laundry to dry, look out into a trash-filled alley, and hear the local cats going at it.

Kitchen shot #1-that door leads to a tiny balcony where we can hang laundry to dry, look out into a trash-filled alley, and hear the local cats going at it.

Kitchen shot #2--this is what I mean about a lack of renovation, but it all functions well enough. Minus hot water.

Kitchen shot #2–this is what I mean about a lack of renovation, but it all functions well enough. Minus hot water.

Downsides? Not too far from the metro stations, but far enough so it’s a bit more of a walk than I want sometimes…and this apartment is definitely more than I should be spending. I can, because I have savings at home that I’ve kept for just-in-case years like this, but I really would prefer to be living more within my meager means. So, we’ll see if I can’t line up some private teaching on the side to boost the income. Oh, also, apparently there are some ants. Some so-tiny-you-can-barely-see-them-but-they-bite ants. I bought some Raid, so that’s in the works.

What I mean by cool old stuff, part one.

What I mean by cool old stuff, part one.

What I mean by cool old stuff, part two--hidden inside this outwardly normal table.

What I mean by cool old stuff, part two–hidden inside this outwardly normal table.

Honestly though, I’ll take the quirks and creaks of this place. It’s just nice to have somewhere to finally call home.

-B

Share your thoughts!

