Beginnings / egypt / teaching / Travel

Uhhhh…Surprise?

So here’s how my life kind of rolls:

One day I’m sitting around, still working as a waitress/part-time manager (about a year after returning from France) at arguably the coolest and most fun restaurant in my town, spending my days saving cash, working out like a crazed person, and lamenting my chances of ever getting out of the vicious “not enough experience for entry level job” cycle, complaining about having to make my 8,000th guacamole at work.

The next day (while on vacation, mind you) I find out that Lo And Beeeee-hold, I actually managed to trick someone into giving me a job.

In Cairo.

Starting in September.

……..

Is your mind blown? Join the club. I’m still a little unsure if this is real or not. In fact, I even hesitated to purchase a plane ticket and lost out on some dirt cheap prices because I keep feeling like I’m going to get an apology email saying things aren’t going to work out after all.

Seemed like an appropriate time to fire this blog-thing back up.

So here’s the skinny:

This IS another English teaching job. (For slightly less than 1 year.) While I’ve mentioned before that I really enjoy teaching, English teaching about the globe is not actually my goal and would normally feel like a step backwards a little bit, despite the travel perks. HOWEVER. This position is English education for refugees.

Refugees, my dear friends, are people I DO want to work with as a career. Or at least it’s a good step in a very general Humanitarian Assistance Career of Some Sort that I would like to pursue. I am hoping that this job will open up opportunities to investigate the careers of other people working for the same company in different departments of refugee aid (legal and psychosocial–the latter being most interesting to me) and some networking.

And of course, give me some street cred. Obviously.

See this guy? A true Cairo OG. Aspirations, kids.

(Theoretically this will also remind me how to speak that language I once spent a great deal of time and money and sleepless nights trying to learn. You know, my old friend Mr. Arabic…which I’ve just about completely forgotten, so this should be a hilarious tragedy. Plus, another insane life experience living abroad.)

So those are all good things. Here are some of the things I’m expecting not to enjoy so much:

1) I’ve gotten super used to living near family and friends again. I’ve been spoiled, and I’m going to miss them. I am also going to be literally missing a couple of weddings (…really hope they don’t kill me for that…) and an annual family trip to Estes Park in Colorado, which I was really looking forward to. I tried really hard to negotiate a mid-September arrival to accommodate these things, but the school’s semester starts the first week of September, so it was either give in or don’t get the job. Blagh.

2) Crossfit is…iffy-looking. Shutup people, you know this is my life and sanity and I’m not going to handle a year-ish without it very well. There are MULTIPLE places that claim to have Crossfit in Cairo, but some of them do not impress me by looks, and the ones that do would be like…an hour in transit just going one way. So I’m going to have to work something out, because I have dedicated way too much time to meeting certain goals to give up now. And more than anything I will hate not having the top-notch coaching and amazing, supportive community I have now. (I will also be missing a Go Ruck challenge with my gym, which sucks.)  #crossfitrantover

3) Smog, noise, and traffic in Cairo. None of it sounds appealing from what I have been reading. Excellent. At least I’m mentally prepared?

4) The joys of being a female in Cairo. A foreign female at that. I’ll leave it at that for now, because I can tell I will have a rant or two about it in the future.

5) That first month of confusion, terrible communication, homesickness and that feeling of getting in over my head. Yeah, I have no one to blame but myself, every time. But it still sucks, every time.

Here we go again, folks.

-B

One thought on “Uhhhh…Surprise?

  1. Good luck on your move. My daughter and I are also moving to Cairo in a few weeks as I teach grade 4. Some of your concerns are our’s as well. Hope it all goes well for you. The travel opportunities for being in Cairo, we feel, outweigh the disadvantages…. at least we hope.

Share your thoughts!

