Art / Photography / Tourism / Travel

Street Art in London

So I’ve been thinking…I might be about done with the France posts. I mean, I could add a few more details here and there, and perhaps I will once and again in the future, but…the main stuff is done. Going through my archives of photos, there are very few events (most just minimal shots/memories) that I haven’t already touched on.  So it’s time to focus on some other areas of the world–as in, continuing all those I’ve started but never finished on here, and also adding some new ones.

Like…the U.K., for example. Or the bits of it I saw on my brief trip in May this year, right at the end of my time in Paris.

I’ll save the full details for further longer posts, but essentially I set off to visit my British friends from the year starting in the north of England going up to Scotland for a few days, and then working our way back down through various cities until we ended in London.

I liked London much more than I thought I would, due largely to the sheer amount of CHARACTER the city has–something I felt was missing from Paris’ undeniably lovely but rather uniform streets (at least in the center.) One of the most distinguishing features I found was the graffiti–often sanctioned and commissioned–that decorated many quarters and buildings, so I went nuts taking photographs.  I thought I’d get back into blogging (yeah, long hiatus, sorry) by sharing some of my favorites today.  Without further rambling, here they are!

 

For starters, a tribal monkey. Holding an eyeball. As you do.

For starters, a tribal monkey. Holding an eyeball. As you do.

We found a yard of a torn down building that was an absolute madhouse of graffiti in all different styles--some of it was truly amazing.

We found a yard of a torn down building that was an absolute madhouse of graffiti in all different styles–some of it was truly amazing.

Simple, but pretty cute!

Simple, but pretty cute!

Close up of one of the sections of wall in the abandoned yard. This was so wonderfully done I was captivated.

Close up of one of the sections of wall in the abandoned yard. This was so wonderfully done I was captivated.

...This little guy was too cute to ignore.

…This little guy was too cute to ignore.

Rather sweet, I thought.

Rather sweet, I thought.

This one absolutely FLOORED me.

This one absolutely FLOORED me.

As did this, I don't understand how people can create such magical things...

As did this, I don’t understand how people can create such magical things…

In progress on the back of a building.

In progress on the back of a building.

We all pretty much freaked out when we saw this one. Uh-may-zing.

We all pretty much freaked out when we saw this one. Uh-may-zing.

I don't actually know what was happening here.

I don’t actually know what was happening here.

This stunner was near the Camden Markets, I believe. Those eyes look perfectly real. Aside from the fact that they're purple, of course.

This stunner was near the Camden Markets, I believe. Those eyes look perfectly real. Aside from the fact that they’re purple, of course.

 

Annnd that’s all for today folks! Hope you all like graffiti as much as I do, I almost always take pictures of it when I travel…I love seeing art expressed that way.

Cheers!

-B

Share your thoughts!

