Good Times / Tourism / Travel

Throwback Thursday: Pergamon

On the third day of my whirlwind trip through Turkey in 2013, our little tour bus rolled through Bergama to the bottom of a very, very large hill. Our destination, the ancient (Hellenistic) city of Pergamon, lay at the top. Like, the very very top.  I don’t have a problem with hiking, but it was darn chilly and breezy, so I wasn’t too sad when I learned that we would be taking little gondolas up the mountain.

Those little wire-riding carts saved me from numb fingers for a little longer.

Those little wire-riding carts saved me from numb fingers for a little longer.

At the top though, I had my mind blown. The Greeks who constructed Pergamon must have had a serious aesthetic for a good view, (or, you know, the common sense to want a good defense incase attackers came a-knockin’) because from the top of that mountain you can see for MILES.

Daisies, which didn't seem to be intentionally planted, carpeted the ground outside the city so well that it almost looked like snow.

Daisies, which didn’t seem to be intentionally planted, carpeted the ground outside the city so well that it almost looked like snow.

IMG_4633EDIT

Now that’s what I call great stadium seating–look at that view! Off that very very steep edge!

Pergamon has a reasonably long history switching hands between conquerors, but also saw some long stretches of peace and prosperity in which the city grew. Left behind are some truly impressive ruins–columns, paved walkways, the above theater…apparently the Library of Pergamon was once second only to that of Alexandria. Pretty big deal, if you ask me.

Some hint of the scale of things that once were.

Some hint of the scale of things that once were.

Remains of one of the temples, forgive me for not remembering which!

Remains of one of the temples, forgive me for not remembering which!

For some reason this reminded me of the trees of the sister cities in the Lord of the Rings. Go ahead, call me a nerd.

For some reason this reminded me of the trees of the sister cities in the Lord of the Rings. Go ahead, call me a nerd.

Much of Pergamon’s glory, it must be mentioned, lies currently in the Pergamon museum in Berlin, Germany. But I’d say it’s still worth a visit on its own! Although it was cloudy and damp on the day of our visit, the views were still breathtaking, and I can only imagine how things would look with a clearer sky. It’s really an amazing place to poke around and explore and imagine how things must have looked once upon a time.

My tour group staring down into the well that was constructed at the top of the mountain. Engineering, yo.

My tour group staring down into the well that was constructed at the top of the mountain. Engineering, yo.

Annnnd I shall leave you all with one more picture of yours truly…

Yeah, they've even got waterfront views. Nice job, Pergamon.

Yeah, they’ve even got waterfront views. Nice job, Pergamon.

With that, I’m off! Hope you enjoyed this somewhat briefer-than-usual throwback Thursday!

-B

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Pergamon

Share your thoughts!

