Beginnings / Study Abroad / Travel

The Return

My oh my…time has certainly flown!

Me, flanked by two friends showing off our caps at graduation.

Me, flanked by two friends showing off our caps at graduation.

Since my last post, I finished off my last month and a half in Peru, including tons of papers, finals, and trips to Cusco, Cajamarca, and Puno–home to Lake Titicaca on the Peruvian side.  These three places were actually stunningly gorgeous and I loved every second of my trips there. Lake Titicaca in particular was so beautiful it was surreal.

But it’s been even longer than that since I posted. I came home, reconnected with my beautiful friends and family, and started my final semester of college.  I wrote a senior thesis, graduated (even with a few honors here and there!) with 3 bachelors’ degrees and a minor, went to TURKEY for spring break, and then traveled to IRELAND as a graduation gift for 10 days starting the day after graduation.

Perhaps, dear readers, you understand why I failed to chronicle the last bits of Peru and this semester. However…

I’m back. And I’ve got two new big adventures coming up!

On June 20th I will be leaving to spend 6 weeks in Oman, home to ocean, mountains, desert, and DATES (!).  I will be there studying in an Arabic program through CIL, the Center for International Learning. When I studied abroad in Jordan during the spring of 2012, I went to Oman for a week on my spring break. I loved it.  It’s stunning to look at (if not a bit on the toasty side) and the people were almost as warm as the sunshine.  So this is something I’m really looking forward to.

Then, sometime around the end of September/beginning of October, I will be moving to France, where I will be teaching English to middle and high school students for about 7-8 months.  I haven’t been told the specific cities where I will be working yet, but it will be in the school district of Créteil, which is a suburb on the southeast side of Paris.  My French is HORRIBLE right now, so that will most definitely be an adventure.

In the future, I promise not to totally ditch my blog like I did in the past. I also promise shorter entries so that you might have a shot of actually reading everything without falling asleep.

Most importantly, I promise to try and live a life worth reading about while I have all of these incredible opportunities in front of me. I am honestly the luckiest girl I know.

Until next time, friends.

-Becky Abroad

(PS, if you have questions about any of the trips I mentioned at the beginning of the post that I didn’t elaborate on, feel FREE to ask me!)

2 thoughts on “The Return

  1. That’s great that you have so many adventures lined up for this year! I’m sure after a couple weeks in France, you’ll start dreaming in French and speak even more fluently. Excited to read future posts!

  2. Pingback: Metros and baguettes and cheese, oh my! | Becky Abroad

Share your thoughts!

