Study Abroad

Postponing Posts

Ack.

Kids, I hate to do this to you, I really do, but I think I’m going to have to put a hold on my activity here (except perhaps maybe once or twice this weekend, IF I get the chance) for about a week or two.

Why?

In a word, my friends, midterms.

Yep, it’s that time again. I have one this week, and two next week + a paper. In order to study for all of these, I first must complete all of the reading assignments from which to study FROM later. These comprise of probably more than 600 pages all together. In Spanish…sometimes of a high level. Perfectly comprehensible but often slowgoing, as most of them are history rather than literature readings.

What I’m getting at is that even if I don’t sleep and read constantly for the next week and a half, I probably still won’t finish. Much less if I’m taking the time to write long updates here. (Just the writing tends to take an hour+…much less trying to upload photos at the speed of molasses in January with a shady internet connection. Not to mention photo editing times.)

My goal is to write another 1-2 posts about Arequipa this weekend when I need a break from studying. Other than that, however, I think I should stay off of here for a bit to focus. I still love you all, don’t worry, and I shall be back (if I don’t die in the process of these exams, that is) as soon as possible.

To tide you over, here’s a quick summary of my last few days or so:

Gym. Studied in Starbucks. Slept intermittently and studied intermittently throughout nights. Rinse, wash, repeat. (Except this evening, when I took a break to have dinner with my Indonesian & German friends at a delicious Turkish restaurant owned by the same people/offering the same food as Istambul, except this location is called Alaturca and is located on Avenida 2 de Mayo in San Isidro. It was a lovely evening of DELICIOUS foods and a good way to relax!)

In Starbucks today, as a fun side note, while I was studying a lady (28, so I hate to call her lady but she’s not really a girl either…woman, I guess?) came over and asked if she could take some pictures of me to use in some of her paintings. She’s actually a psychologist, painting is just a hobby, but she likes to paint faces and apparently my “study till I die” face caught her interest. We then proceeded to chat for a good 30-45 minutes about my studies & travel, impressions of Lima, her work/psychology, applied anthropology, my future endeavors, etc. She was absolutely charming, very bubbly and sweet, and I enjoyed talking to her….however, a lot of the photos she took were OF me talking, so I have a feeling there are a thousand awkward faces lurking in her camera right now…

Hope those aren’t the ones she chooses to paint. Doh.

In any case, just another fun experience that would never happen to me in the States…even if it did sort of detract from my reading for a fair amount of time. Whatever, totally worth it. 😀

Ok kids. Please cross your fingers for me and wish me luck, and I’ll be back this weekend!

Share your thoughts!

