Food. / Good Times / Study Abroad / Tourism / Travel

Back from the Dead

Hello you lovely readers!

As the title implies, I have returned from my 5-ish day venture to Arequipa, Peru–and oh, what a time it was! I’ll go ahead and say upfront that it was the perfect way to kiss last week’s failures goodbye, although admittedly that part where I have a zillion articles to read for homework has not much improved. Oops.

Much of the heart of Arequipa features colonial-style buildings, only outdone in beauty by the Andes lying just behind.

In any case, in order to tell you everything (whether you want to hear it or not) that I did, saw, ate, etc on my venture, I will once again have to break it up over a series of posts & a series of days. However, I’ll go ahead and tell you all a few of the more interesting things I did:

  1.  I ate alpaca. Yes, yes I did.
  2. I drank tea made from coca leaves…many times. (And one beer.) For the record, coca leaves are indeed related to that substance of a similar name…
  3. I had an alcoholic beverage served to me in an ostrich egg. I’m still trying to figure out how I managed to accomplish this in…Peru.
  4. I hiked to the summit of a 19,101 ft (5,822 m) volcano…after only 24 hours in the region to acclimatize myself to the lack of oxygen at that altitude.
  5. I rode on a bus for 15+ hours…twice (This may not sound particularly interesting, but you get to see so much more of the country this way!)

Dawn breaking over the Andes from a few thousand feet up the volcano El Misti.

Many more smaller adventures ensued as well. I traveled with a friend of mine, who actually attends the same university I do in Indiana.  We have actually met before as she was on the ballroom dance team (my addiction/hobby) for a semester but hadn’t really had the chance to get to know each other until we started casually getting together here in Peru. She was a FANTASTIC travel buddy–up for absolutely anything but as laid-back as I am. (Only problematic when we couldn’t decide where to get food. Oops.)

One of the private rooms in the wine bar side of restaurant ZigZag, unused for the night.

I’ll probably divide the posts up something relatively like this: traveling/the city of Arequipa, climbing the volcano (called El Misti, if anyone would like to look it up), food (because I know you people love drooling over your laptops), and possibly another post dedicated solely to information about our guide up the mountain, because he was pretty badass (also quite profound) and told us a lot of interesting things that I’d like to share with you.

View of the nature reserve to the north of El Misti…perhaps halfway up the volcano?

Anyway, right now my focus really needs to be on all of that homework I sorely neglected and the test I have tomorrow.  So, keep your eyes peeled on the blog over the next week or so for more updates and photos!

Ciao!

(Ps…it was so relaxing to be disconnected from the world by phone/internet this weekend, but I’m not going to lie…I was 150% composing posts in my head whilst hopping around. Aw crap, I’m such a NERD. :P)

2 thoughts on “Back from the Dead

    • There are 3 very easy steps:
      1) Pick your destination.
      2) Find your means of transport to said destination.
      3) Take a deep breath, exhale all of your expectations, and let the world show you something new.

      I think you’ll find that the results are always interesting, to say the least. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

